The colorectal surgery team at St. Paul’s enrolls one fellow each year into a two-year fellowship program, consisting of one clinical year and one non-clinical year. 

The clinical year of training is at St. Paul’s Hospital, while the non-clinical year consists of classes at UBC.

For details, please see here.

Current Fellows:

Dr. Hyea Min Yoon


Dr. Hyea Min Yoon is the colorectal fellow in the clinical year at the University of British Columbia.

Dr. Yoon completed medical school at Queen's University and completed her General Surgery residency at the University of Calgary. After graduation, she underwent further training at McMaster University and completed a fellowship in Advanced Gastrointestinal Minimally Invasive Surgery.

During her non-clinical year, she pursued a Master's of Health Sciences at the University of British Columbia. She is interested in research on quality improvement in Colorectal Surgery. 


Dr. Humaid AlAdawi

Dr. Humaid AlAdawi is the colorectal fellow currently completing his non-clinical year at the University of British Columbia.

Dr. AlAdawi is originally from Oman, where he completed medical school in Sultan Qaboos University and recently completed General Surgery residency at the University of British Columbia. In July 2018, he began his colorectal fellowship and at the same time he is doing additional training to undertake master’s in health administration at UBC.

Dr. AlAdawi current research focused on complications, functional outcomes and quality of life related to colorectal surgery. He enjoys teaching junior trainees and plan to remain involve in teaching during his fellowship. He plans to return to Oman after his fellowship and interested to establish a colorectal program for the country.


Fellowship Alumni:

Dr. François Letarte

Dr. Dilip Gill

Dr. Ryan McColl

Dr. Magdalena Recsky

Dr. Irene Schornagel

Dr. Thamer Al-Tayeb

Dr. Reagan Robertson